The Department of Journalism at Ball State University is offering up to 10 scholarships for incoming freshman who will major in journalism, public relations or advertising.

Your application includes a 250-word essay, 3-5 clips of your best work, a copy of your HS transcript and contact information for two academic references. Additional details for each specific scholarship can be found on the application form below.

The deadline for incoming Freshman Scholarships is Dec. 1.

Apply Here! 


Robert L. and Sherles K. Barnet Scholarship: A $500 award that can be renewed for three additional years; awarded to an incoming freshman declaring intentions to major in journalism. The recipient must have earned a cumulative grade point average (GPA) of at least 3.0 on a 4.0 scale. The recipient must maintain full-time status while receiving the scholarship. If the recipient leaves the study of journalism, he or she will no longer be eligible for the award.

Freshman Achievement Scholarships: A one-time $500 award funded by alumni and general scholarship funds; open to all incoming journalism students. The Department of Journalism awards four freshman achievement scholarships.

Holmes-McFadden Journalism Scholarship: A $1,000 award that gives preference to a minority student majoring in journalism. This scholarship can be renewed for up to three additional years by students who continue their enrollment in the Department of Journalism, maintain a minimum 2.7 GPA and obtain approval of the department chairperson.

Louis E. Ingelhart Scholarship: A one-time $1,500 award granted by the Journalism Alumni Association to an outstanding high school journalism student.

Michael Smith Scholarship: A $1,000 scholarship, eligible for renewal for three additional years; awarded to an incoming freshman journalism major with an academic index of 3.0 or higher, or transfer student with a minimum GPA of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale. Minimum SAT score of 1.000 (old system) or 1.500 (new system), or an ACT score of 21.

Theresa C. and Leonard S. Sowar Scholarship: A $500 award intended to help an incoming freshman with the cost of books and supplies. First preference is given to applicants who are Muncie residents; second preference to a nontraditional student.

Richard S. Simons Memorial Scholarship: This $500 scholarship can be renewed for three additional years. The scholarship will be awarded to an incoming freshman declaring intentions to major in journalism, who demonstrates meritorious service, academic achievement and aptitude. Financial need may also be considered.

Bona Cress Press and Lawrence Press Scholarship: This $2,500 scholarship may be renewed up to three years, if funds are available. If funds are available, the student must remain a major within the journalism department and maintain a 2.6 GPA in order to stay eligible. Preference is given to students from traditionally underrepresented groups, non-Indiana residents, and/or bilingual students.